Dating to 1941, completed just weeks before Pearl Harbor, this Pemberton Heights classic was built by John McCurdy, the first Executive Secretary of the Texas Exes Alumni Association, who owned and maintained it for over 60 years. The home played host to many exciting, high-profile Austin gatherings through the decades, as numerous philanthropic enterprises for UT occurred here: fundraising to build the Gregory Gymnasium, the Hogg Auditorium, the Texas Union and much more.
The current owners hired the highly-regarded historic architect, Tina Contros, to remodel this Center Hall Colonial-Styled residence in 2011. The home was taken down to the studs and everything—including all MEP, windows, dry wall, foundation—was replaced, and although it is functionally a brand new home at over 3000 square feet, it has maintained the historic refinement and charm that always made it special.
Sitting on over a quarter acre within the graceful, immaculate streets of Pemberton Heights, this home has five bedrooms and four and one-half baths with plenty of room for a pool. The home’s layout and finishes are as thoughtful as they are stunning, with every inch designed for smart, stylish living. The secondary staircase, which leads to a full bedroom and bath, is connected to the home but is framed to be disconnected to offer a private entrance for guests. The new foundation over the outdoor patio has also been reinforced for a potential second-phase addition to link the two upstairs living areas if desired. This addition could add upwards of another thousand square feet to the footprint.
Located just two miles from the UT’s main campus, the Capitol complex, the downtown central business district, Shoal Creek trails, Lady Bird Lake, and so much more, this house is truly an Austin treasure.